Having over three million licensed drivers in Kentucky, there are thousands of miles of roadways you’ll use on a daily basis, which is why you’ll need to find cheap car insurance in KY. With trips from the Cumberland Plateau to downtown Frankfort, every driver should have insurance to make sure they are protected.
Having adequate car insurance is not only common sense, but it’s also a legal requirement in the state of Kentucky. Knowing where the cheapest rates are found and what the insurance laws are can help you to make the right decision.
Kentucky Minimum Coverage
Kentucky has an average total for their minimum coverage. You’ll find that it’s quite similar to most other states, which makes it slightly easier to deal with, especially if you’re on a tight budget.
What makes car insurance different in this state is that you’re not only responsible for property damage and bodily injury but personal injury as well.
This type of insurance is required to cover another party’s medical expenses if you are found at-fault in an accident. In Kentucky, the minimum requirements for bodily injury are $25,000 per person per accident and $50,000 for all people in an accident.
It’s very probable that both vehicles will be damaged in an accident. If you are found at fault, you will have to pay for repairs or replacement of the other party’s vehicle. This also includes damage to any structures, such as houses, as a result of your accident.
The minimum property damage requirement in Kentucky is $10,000.
This type of protection is meant to cover medical expenses incurred by anyone in an accident, including yourself. In most accidents, PIP will cover lost wages, and it’s frequently seen as an add-on. However, in KY, it is a requirement for all drivers.
The minimum requirement for personal injury protection is $10,000, which is similar to property damage coverage.
Kentucky Average Premiums
Value Penguin conducted a study across 16 different insurance providers in Kentucky to determine what the average cost of insurance is in the state. In their study, they found that drivers pay an average of $1,885 annually for car insurance.
However, the premiums varied by approximately $3,102 when comparing the least and most expensive providers.
The five cheapest car insurance companies in the state are The Cincinnati, Progressive, Grange Mutual, GEICO, Motorists Mutual, and Kentucky Average.
- The Cincinnati: $1,025 annually
- Progressive: $1,272 annually
- Grange Mutual: $1,303 annually
- GEICO: $1,424 annually
- Motorists Mutual: $1,433 annually
Determining Factors of Cheap Car Insurance in KY
As with any other insurance provider, there are a variety of factors scrutinized to determine the cost of a driver’s premiums. Every driver will have different traits that affect their policies, some of which can lessen the cost of your insurance and others will make it more expensive.
The most notable factors considered when determining the cost of your insurance in Kentucky include:
- Driving Record
Individuals with clean driving records are far more likely to have lower insurance premiums. Additionally, they may qualify for additional bonuses and discounts, such as good driving discounts.
- Geographic Location
Where you live will have a significant impact on your insurance rates. For example, with The Cincinnati, drivers in Albany pay approximately $1,080 per year for insurance yet drivers in Lexington pay an average of $792.
- Driving Experience
Aside from your driving record, the length of time you have been driving is also an important factor. The more experienced you are, the lower your insurance will be.
For that reason, many drivers opt to sign up for safe driving courses, such as defensive driving classes, to help lower their insurance premiums.
The Best Insurance Companies in Kentucky
It is important to remember that although an insurance provider is rated as the cheapest, it doesn’t mean that they’re the best. Ideally, you’ll want a perfect balance of affordable rates and great policy options to make sure you’re sufficiently covered by your insurance.
The top-rated insurance companies in Kentucky include:
- State Farm
Car Insurance Laws in Kentucky
Car insurance and driving laws frequently change no matter where you are located. It is your responsibility to stay refreshed on the most recent laws to make sure you are safely operating a motor vehicle.
The following laws are currently active in Kentucky and will likely have a heavy influence on your insurance premiums:
Three Coverage Minimums
Compared to most other states that only require bodily injury and property damage, Kentucky requires all drivers to also have personal injury protection at a minimum of $10,000.
Requiring Police Assistance
It has recently become law that in an accident with damages of over $500, the police must be called. If police are unavailable, both parties will have to file a written report with the state police within 10 days of the accident.
Aside from the minimum requirements, as previously stated, every driver in Kentucky is required to have insurance while operating a motor vehicle. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will likely have your license revoked and will be subject to fines up to $1,000.
For all additional offenses, you may face up to 90 days in jail as well as fines.
New Resident Insurance
If you have recently moved to Kentucky, you will be required to apply for registration within 15 days of moving to the state. This only applies to individuals who will be bringing a vehicle from another state or country into Kentucky.
Surrendering License Plates
It is possible to revoke the registration of your vehicles if they are not being driven, such as historic vehicles. However, you will be required to surrender your license plates to the County Clerk’s office before removing your insurance. Otherwise, you could face penalties for having a lack of insurance on your vehicles.
Cheap car insurance in KY is similar to many other places across the United States. The main difference is that you are required to purchase three minimum requirements compared to just two.
By using this guide to your advantage, you’ll know the most necessary aspects of owning and operating a motor vehicle in the state of Kentucky. Without the appropriate amount of insurance, you could face having your license revoked as well as numerous fines. Not to mention you may also be at risk for up to 90 days in jail when driving without insurance.